• Chinese government lifts ban on new coal-fired power plants in 11 provinces

    Date posted:

    • Post Author

      Patrick Lavery

      Combustion Industry News Editor

The Chinese government has lifted a halt on coal-fired power plant development in 11 provinces after its National Energy Administration forecast that they will no longer have overcapacity problems by 2022. The provinces include Hebei, Qinghai, Chongqing, Guangxi, Guangdong, Yunnan, Guizhou and Henan, and a qualification to the ban being lifted is that plants designed to provide heating to homes will not be allowed. Prices for shares in Chinese coal mining companies jumped on the news, showing the market expects that new coal-fired plants will actually be built, even though as a whole coal firing has been declining in China in favour of gas and renewables.