• Karen Finney

        Co-opted Specialist: Early Career Researchers

        Dr Karen N Finney is a chartered engineer and a research fellow at Energy2050 within the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Sheffield. Her research expertise is in low-carbon and sustainable energy generation, focussing conventional power, bioenergy and carbon capture.

      • Massimiliano Fantuzzi

        CI Chair

        He is the leader of the R&D group of the Furnaces Business Unit in Genova. He is the author of more than 50 articles published on international magazines of the steel industry field and in the proceedings of international conferences. He is also the chair of the Italian Flame Research Committee (Comitato Italiano – CI). 

      • Yong Yan

        Co-opted specialist: Regional (Asia)

        Yong Yan joined the University of Kent in 2004 as a Professor of Electronic Instrumentation and the Head of Instrumentation and Control. He has been Director of Research of the School of Engineering and Digital Arts since 2008. He has published more than 170 papers in peer reviewed journals.

      • Jacques Dugué

        Co-opted specialist: Safety

        Jacques Dugué is the Fired Equipment Adviser at TOTAL Refining and Chemicals and Council member of IFRF.

      • Chuck Benson

        Co-opted specialist: New Fuels

        Chuck Benson has 35 years of experience in the development, design, and optimisation of energy systems. His work has focused on applications in the industrial, power generation, commercial, and residential sectors.

      • Fredrik Normann

        SFRC Chair

        Fredrik Normann is Chair of Swedish Flame Research Committee (SFRC) and an Associate Professor at Chalmers University. His research focuses on technologies for reducing emissions of CO2 through carbon capture and sequestration as well as of emissions like NOx and SOx.

      • Jeroen van Oijen

        NVV Chair

        Jeroen van Oijen is known for developing the Flamelet-Generated Manifold method, a breakthrough in the field of combustion modelling. He has co-authored over 80 journal and 100 conference papers and is Chair of the Dutch Flame Research Committee (NVV).

      • Vesna Barisic

        FFRC Chair

        Vesna Barisic works at the Research and Development, Sumitomo SHI FW and conducts research related to fluidised bed combustion, particularly in the field of fuel chemistry and fuel-related combustion phenomena. Vesna is the Chair of Finnish Flame Research Committee (FFRC).

      • Viktor Scherer

        DVV Chair

        Viktor Scherer is the Chair of German Flame Research Committee (DVV), a Professor and the Chair of Energy Systems and Energy Process Engineering at Ruhr-University Bochum.

      • Roger Dudill

        BFRC Chair

        During his career Roger worked principally in combustion research on oxygen based systems, for which he was awarded several equipment and process patents. He is currently Chair of the British Flame Research Committee (BFRC).

      • Phil Smith

        AFRC Chair

        Phil Smith is the Chair of the American Flame Research Committee (AFRC), the Director of the Institute for Clean and Secure Energy, and a Professor of Chemical Engineering at Utah University.

      • Philip Sharman

        Executive Director

        As well as being the Director of IFRF, Philip undertakes a number of non-executive and consultancy activities in the broad area of combustion and carbon capture & storage (CCS) and is a member of a variety of advisory committees for combustion-related initiatives.  He is an Honorary Professor of the University of Nottingham and a Visiting Professor at the University of Sheffield.

      • Mohamed Pourkashanian

        General Secretary

        Professor Pourkashanian is the General Secretary of IFRF, Head of Energy-2050 at the University of Sheffield, and is the Executive Director of PACT UK. He holds a chair in Energy Engineering and has completed numerous major research projects on clean energy technology and received a substantial sum of grants from EPSRC, EU, NATO, and industry.

      • Sébastien Caillat


        Sébastien Caillat is Combustion Engineer since 2014 at Fives Stein, equipment and service provider for the steel and glass industry, where he is developing combustion systems for the steel industry, in particular for reheating furnaces and radiant tube furnaces. Since 2013 Sébastien has been the Chair of French Flame Research Committee (CF).

      • Sauro Pasini


        Sauro Pasini spent his professional life at Enel, focusing on the development and implementation of new generation technologies. He is author of over 180 papers in the field of heat transfer, clean combustion, renewable energies and advanced generation technologies.