• Coal Science Award for Professor Terry Wall

    Date posted:

    • Post Author


The Newcastle Herald reports that the Australian Institute of Energy has bestowed its highest honour, the Baragwanath Award, on University of Newcastle Emeritus Professor Terry Wall, recognising a lifetime of outstanding contribution to coal science research.  The award was presented at the Australian Coal Science Conference in Brisbane last Monday. 

The article states that during his 40 years in the industry, Professor Wall has contributed to increasing efficiency and environmental controls in coal-fired power stations around the world. 

Terry Wall joined the International Scientific Team at the IFRF IJmuiden Research Station during the second half of 1985.  His first task was a theoretical investigation of pulverized coal burnout in swirl stabilised flames, working particularly with Liam Phelan and Steve Bortz.  This work is summarised in IFRF doc. K65/a/1 “Research at IJmuiden during the triennial 1983-1985” (pp 19-23) and was a valuable contribution to the International Energy Agency’s research programme “Coal Combustion Sciences-Annex II”.

IJmuiden staff of those days well remember Terry as a great cooperator, participator and teacher.  He lectured on the IFRF technical course “Utilisation of Solid Fuels” held in Hong Kong in September 1989, and later, when IFRF entered the “on-line age”, cooperated with the development of the IFRF Combustion Journal, of which he was the first Editor-in-Chief.

According to a University of Newcastle blogpost, currently Professor Wall and his research group are involved with coal focussed activities including projects on oxyfuel technology for carbon capture and storage, carbon dioxide cleaning and compression, pulverised coal injection, coking coal evaluation and emissions from coal use.

The blogpost specifies that since 2010, Professor Wall has been a Science Leader of the Australian National Low Emission Coal R&D (ANLECR&D) organisation.  He was made a Member (AM) of the Order of Australia in 2001 Australia Day honours list for service to the coal industry and education.  He is also an Elected Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.

IFRF adds our voice to the flood of congratulations being showered on this dear friend and ally and thank him for his many contributions to the work of the Foundation.