• British Flame hosts Best Poster Award at the Institute of Physics meeting

    Date posted:

    • Post Author

      Roger Dudill

      BFRC Chair

British Flame Research Committee (BFRC) once more sponsored an award to the winner of the best poster displayed at an Institute of Physics meeting recently held at Sheffield University – Current Research in Combustion – in which early career researchers presented papers and posters on their research projects.

Professor Allan Jones, BFRC President, selected the winning entry from a strong field and the award was presented by BFRC Chair, Roger Dudill to Savvas Gkantonas a student from Churchill College, Cambridge.

Also Professor Jim Swithenbank, a former Superintendent of Research at IFRF and a former President of BFRC was presented with the Huw Edwards award by the IOP for his Outstanding Contribution to Combustion Physics – which was underlined by Jim’s lecture in which he enthusiastically presented fascinating detail of his wide ranging and ground breaking experience and achievements. Undoubtedly he is a remarkable role model for aspiring combustion researchers.